In this guide, you will learn more about the shared product inventory across all languages. This feature is suitable for multilingual e-shops where products are shared across languages.
1. To enable the function, click on the Store settings tab in the administration and then on General settings.
2. Click the Edit button here in the Shared product inventory across all languages.
3. Next, click on Yes, select the language version where you want to keep your products and confirm with Save.
The selected language version where you want to keep your products is the administration language of your website, ie the one in which the default content of individual product items is displayed.
ATTENTION: If the shared warehouse is switched off and you switch it on, you will be able to choose one of the languages from which all products will be preserved, which will be unified for all languages. Products will be deleted from other languages.
Setting the language versions of individual products
1. In the editor, click on Products.
2. You can find the switch for language versions in the Products section. At the same time you can see the indicator of the current language next to the product names.
3. You can also find the switch directly in the settings of individual products.
The individual product settings are divided within the shared product inventory across all languages into language items and non-language items.
Language items are product parameters that may be different for each language version. These are the product name, short description, product label, title, URL, meta descriptions, keywords, variant group name and variant names.
When editing or deleting a language item, the changes will not be reflected in other languages.
TIP: If you fill in one of the parameters of language items in only one language version, the editor will notify you with this message.
Non-language items are those parameters that are always the same for all languages. These are price, product photos, categories, product visibility, product number, product availability, product weight, product size and comparative price.
CAUTION: If you delete or edit a non-language item, the change will affect all language versions of the product.
TIP: The difference between a language and a non-language item can be identified by the indicator of the current language. Language items always have this indicator.
ATTENTION: If you delete a product, it will be deleted automatically in all language versions.
Shared language versions also work within product variants. By default, you will find the language switcher above:
If you select the language for shared product inventory across all languages, you can add and delete variant categories as well as individual product variants. Within other languages, you can only rename the items, not delete or add them.
Product categories are shared across languages, as well as products or variants, and you can change their name within the selected language. It is possible to change the language via the switch above.
While adding a new category, you can enter a category name for all languages using the language switcher in the addition window.
ATTENTION: If you delete a category, it will be deleted automatically in all language versions.
Turn off shared storage
If the shared warehouse is switched on and switched off, the products are duplicated in each language version (with the same name and other parameters). For example, if you have a product called "table" in English and "Tisch" in German, "table" will remain as a separate product in English and "Tisch" as a separate product in German when the warehouse is shut down. There will be no link between them, editing one will not affect the other product.